Rotographic facsimile reproduction of Wolfenbuttel Ms Codex Helmstedt 411 [Copiale Prioratus Sanctiandree: the letterbook of James Haldenstone prior of St Andrews].
Copiale Prioratus Sanctiandree, 1443.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A priory of Augustinian canons was founded around 1127 by Robert, bishop of St Andrews. The small eleventh century church of St Rule was extended to function as a church for the canons and also as cathedral for the see of St Andrews. The priory had 3 dependent houses, Porkmoak or Loch Leven priory, Pittenweem and Monymusk. St Andrews cathedral, administered by the canons, was begun in 1160, but not completed until 1318. James Haldenstone was prior of the cathderal from 1418 until 1443.
By appointment with the Keeper of Manuscripts. Access to records containing confidential information may be restricted.
Rotographs made on the instruction of the Court of the University of St Andrews with the consent of the owner, 1924.
Call number used to be ms1347
Other Finding Aids
Individual Manuscripts and Small Collections database available as part of Manuscripts Database.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Binding: Blue cloth on boards with university crest on spine.Paper: 18.5x24cm
Description compiled by Maia Sheridan, Archives Hub project archivist, based on material from the Manuscripts Database
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Keeper of Manuscripts. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents. Copyright lies with the present owner of the original ms.
Location of Originals
Wolfenbuttel Ms Codex Helmstedt 411
Printed in James Houston Baxter, Copiale Prioratus Sancti Andree, St Andrews University Publications, XXXI, 1930.