Cash book, 1921-1933; Minutes, 1844-1891 and 1922-1933; Communion roll, 1921-1930.
Records of Strathmiglo United Free Church
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
At the time of the Disruption in 1843 a congregation of adherents to the Free Church was established within Strathmiglo, which was later to become known as Strathmiglo South in 1876, after the union of the Reformed Presbyterian Church with the Free Church, as the RP church in Strathmiglo took the name of Strathmiglo North. The charge at Strathmiglo South was vacant after 1889, an ordained preacher serving the congregation. The two Free Church congregations were united in 1899 as Strathmiglo Free Church, and following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the congregation became the United Free Church of Strathmiglo. In 1912 the charge was transferred by the General Assembly from the Presbytery of Dunfermline and Kinross to the Presbytery of Cupar and at the 1929 union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church, the congregation was named Strathmiglo West. In 1933 Strathmiglo West church joined with the Parish Church congregation of Strathmiglo St Martin's. The two charges united under the name of Strathmiglo, and after the union, the former West church was sold. Further union later followed in 1981 with Edenshead to form the congregation of Edenshead and Strathmiglo. Strathmiglo and Edenshead Church presently sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.