Society records of the Methodist Church, Stillington Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Trustees' minute book, 1954-1977; papers relating to the lease of the old school adjoining the chapel, 1935-1936.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Methodist chapel existed in Stillington from at least 1818, when a house and chapel were recorded as the property of George Walker, leader of the local Methodist Society.

In 1844 a new and larger chapel was built on the same site , with accommodation for 400 people, and in 1860 a day school was built as an extension of the chapel building.

By the 1970s it was apparent that the chapel was too large for the present congregation and the old building was sold and replaced by a new, smaller, chapel which opened in the old schoolroom in 1971.

Stillington was initially part of the Easingwold Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Easingwold Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion. In 1972 Stillington joined York, North Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1998. A further addition was made to the archive in 1998.

Note

A Methodist chapel existed in Stillington from at least 1818, when a house and chapel were recorded as the property of George Walker, leader of the local Methodist Society.

In 1844 a new and larger chapel was built on the same site , with accommodation for 400 people, and in 1860 a day school was built as an extension of the chapel building.

By the 1970s it was apparent that the chapel was too large for the present congregation and the old building was sold and replaced by a new, smaller, chapel which opened in the old schoolroom in 1971.

Stillington was initially part of the Easingwold Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Easingwold Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion. In 1972 Stillington joined York, North Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 25.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York, North Circuit and a small number of records relating to the Easingwold Circuit are deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The first forms part of: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

The main records of Easingwold Circuit are deposited at North Yorkshire Record Office (Reference: R/M/EAW).

Additional Information

Published

GB193