This single account book was placed in the Brynmor Jones Library by the vicar of Holy Trinity Church Hull in October 1938. It records the ongoing book-buying accounts of the churchwardens with the vicar between 1798 and 1860. For example, in 1856 the works of John Lightfoot were purchased for 2. The books were for Holy Trinity's Library which has subsequently been deposited in the Brynmor Jones Library.
Account Book between the Churchwardens and the Vicar of Holy Trinity Church Hull
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Holy Trinity Church Hull is one of the largest parish churches in England and was established about 1285. It features early use of brick (14th century) and is located in the Market Place.
Conditions Governing Access
Originally published by Access to Archives- A2A. The data in this finding aid is in the copyright of the place of deposit.
Other Finding Aids
Listed to item level
Pevsner, N & Neave, D, The buildings of England: York and the East Riding (1995)