'Colliers Weekly list of trams' Aug-Sep 1878
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bargoed Colliery was established in 1897 by the Powell Duffryn Steam Coal Co. Ltd. The site consisted of two shafts at Bargoed which produced steamcoal and a shaft at Brithdir for housecoal. After nationalisation in 1947, the colliery was placed in the South Western Division's No. 5 (Rhymney) Area, Group No. 2. It continued to grow in terms of size and production and by 1947 included a large power station and eighty-six coke ovens on the site.
The Brithdir Pit closed in 1949 but Bargoed Colliery continued to operate until 1977 when it formally ceased production.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), p. 60
Very fragile. Some items may be unfit for production.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.