Includes a minute book and membership file.
Records of the Tope Angling Club of Great Britain
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CX386
- Dates of Creation1959-1979
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description5 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The club was founded in 1959 by Denis J Williams and others and aquired a wide national and international membership. Its headquarters was at the George and Dragon public house in Conwy and later, at Denton House, Church Walks, Llandudno. Committee members included Vic Noakes [of Williams Typewriters], Harold Griffith [funeral directer] and Edgar Griffith [builder]. The club hosted fishing festivals and a big annual dinner and dance which the Mayor and Mayoress of Llandudno always attended. With the death of Vic Noakes in 1977 and of Denis J Williams in 1982, the club membership dwindled. At the same time sea angling declined in popularity in the 1980s. The donor has been unable to find evidence of the club having been incorporated into another angling club. [N.B A tope is a species of small shark].
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.