Also known as Pentre Broughton Black Lane County Primary School.
Pentre Broughton Board School opened in 1860. The first headmaster was George Benjamin Davies.
Log books mention collier's strikes and the general strike of 1926.
In 1935 all children over the age of eleven were transferred to Brynteg Central School.
In 1989 the school was remodelled and continues to serve as a primary school.
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
ED/9- Brynteg Board school records, 1875-1978
ED/X/9/4-5- Black Lane School plans, 1895
The collection includes: log books; admission registers; attendance registers; managers minutes; accounts; and plans.
John Bagshaw, Broughton Then and Now, 1992