Deeds relating to Morfa Gwyllt, Llanfrothen, Merionethshire, [?1822]-1965.
Deeds and papers relating to Closure of Morfa Gwyllt, Llanfrothen
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/M/436
- Dates of Creation[?1822]-1965
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Morfa Gwyllt, Llanfrothen, Merionethshire, was an area of coastal marshland pasture until after the construction of the Porthmadog Cob in 1811, when it was enclosed and drained by Maddocks. The Rev. John Williams Ellis of Glasfryn, Llangybi, Caernarfonshire, purchased Morfa Gwyllt.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau), Deeds and papers relating to Closure of Morfa Gwyllt, Llanfrothen.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained
Accruals are not expected.