In 1834 , David Tod and John MacGregor founded the shipbuilding firm of Tod & MacGregor in Glasgow, Scotland. Tod and MacGregor had previously both worked as engineers for David Napier, engineer and shipbuilder in Glasgow. Tod and MacGregor's first works were at Clyde Foundry, Anderston, Glasgow, although the business later moved to Mavisbank Quay, Glasgow. The business moved to the Meadowside yard, Partick, Glasgow, in 1846 . In 1856 , Tod & MacGregor absorbed the neighbouring yard of T B Seath & Co . In 1858 , Tod & MacGregor opened the Meadowside Dry Dock. In 1873 , the business was bought as a going concern by David and William Henderson, the new company was called David & William Henderson & Co . The business was incorporated as a limited liability company and David & William Henderson & Co Ltd in 1900 and, in 1919 , was taken over by Harland & Wolff Ltd ., shipbuilders, Belfast, Northern Ireland. In 1935 the company went into voluntary liquidation. In 1936 , D & W Henderson Ltd was formed, this business concentrated solely on the repair and conversion of ships. D & W Henderson Ltd was closed by Harland & Wolff Ltd in 1962 .
Vessels up to No. 154 ( 1873 ) were built by Tod & MacGregor; vessels from No. 155 ( 1873 ) were built by David & William Henderson Ltd.