Joan Aiken Collection

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 1840 JA
  • Dates of Creation
  • Name of Creator
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      4 archive boxes, 5 oversize folders

Scope and Content

Contains material relating to 'A Necklace of Raindrops', 'Midnight is a Place', the 'Felix' trilogy ('Go Saddle the Sea', 'Bridle the Wind' and 'The Teeth of the Gale') by Joan Aiken, editions of 'Midnight is a Place' and 'The Teeth of the Gale', and ephemera. Material includes typescripts, correspondence, proofs and proof covers, plot outlines and notes, and research material.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by Joan Aiken in the course of her career in children's literature.


Material has been arranged as follows:

JA/01: 'A Necklace of Raindrops'

JA/02: 'Midnight is a Place'

JA/03: 'Go Saddle the Sea'

JA/04: 'Bridle the Wind'

JA/05: 'The Teeth of the Gale'

JA/06: Miscellaneous

JA/07: Books

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Appraisal Information

Material has been appraised and weeded for duplicates.

Custodial History

Joan Aiken donated material for 'A Necklace of Raindrops' to Seven Stories in 2001. In 2005 Liz Aiken, Joan Aiken's daughter, donated material for 'Midnight is a Place', 'Go Saddle the Sea', 'Bridle the Wind', and 'The Teeth of the Gale', which had been pledged to Seven Stories by Joan Aiken before her death in 2004, and copies of 'Midnight is a Place' and 'The Teeth of the Gale' in different editions, and other ephemera.

Related Material

Material for 'Up the Chimney Down' and 'Mortimer Says Nothing' is held in the de Grummond Collection of the University of Southern Mississippi.