Minutes and records relating to committees, 1811-1953; Financial records, 1882-1972; Records relating to membership of the Bristol Channel Yacht Club, 1885-2004; Records relating to visitors to the Bristol Channel Yacht Club, 1875-1972; Records of the Steward of the Bristol Channel Yacht Club, 1904-1982; Bristol Channel Yacht Club Correspondence, 1884-1981; Records relating to premises, fixtures and fittings: general, 1883-1989; Records relating to premises, fixtures and fittings: the new club house 1883-late 20th cent.; Records relating to events staged by or attended by the Bristol Channel Yacht Club, 1896-late 20th cent.; Prints, engravings and photographs, 1863-c. 1992.
Bristol Channel Yacht Club Papers Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Bristol Channel Yacht Club was established in 1875, by officers who had organised a number of successful regattas in the previous years. It was the first yacht club in the Bristol Channel, and had a membership of 127 in 1875, and from 1904 onwards membership has been between 200 and 250. The club was established as and remains a private members residential club. Members sailed, played cards, billiards, and later snooker and squash. The club kept 2 boats and paid a boatman to teach and encourage members to learn to sail.
The club has met in several locations in Southend, originally in rooms at The George Hotel (1875-1883), then at Mr. Strick's House, Treffgarne (1883-1904). A new club house was built and opened in 1904, paid for by member's donations.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected.