Council of Post Office Unions

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Engineering Series: P O Eng. Deptl. Whitley Councils minutes, 1932-69, circulars, also of P O Eng. Fed., 1922-68, Whitley Bulletins, 1954-5, 1960-9; P O Deptl. Whitley Councils minutes, 1920-69, corres. and subject files, 1930s-60s; COPOU minutes, circs., etc., 1969-80, corres. files, 1960-77 (MSS.89). Reports and circulars, 1972-80 (MSS.135/RD).

Administrative / Biographical History

The Council of Post Office Unions was established in 1969 at a time when the Post Office was ceasing to be part of the Civil Service and its employees were incorporated into a new Post Office structure. The Council comprised five unions at that time : the Association of Post Office Executives; the Post Office Engineering Union; the Union of Post Office Workers; the Post Office Management Staff Association; and the National Federation of Sub-Post Masters. In 1972 the Civil and Public Servants Association joined. The Council inherited many of the functions of the Post Office Departmental Whitley Councils. In 1982 the Council was dissolved having been replaced by the British Telecommunications Union Council and the Post Office Union Committee.

Reference: F. Bealey, The Post Office Engineering Union : the history of the Post Office Engineers, 1870-1970.London, 1976.

Conditions Governing Access

Access : Open.

Archivist's Note

An authority file exists for this corporate body (GB 152 AAR1106).

Some reports and circulars are located at MSS.135B/RD/box 36 . Related organisations which have records located at the Centre include : the Union of Communication Workers (MSS.148/UCW) ; the National Communications Union (MSS.135C) ; the Society of Post Office Executives (MSS.124) ; the British Telecommunications Union Council (MSS.260) ; the Post Office Engineering Federation (MSS.120) ; and the Communication Managers' Association (MSS.225/CM) .

Appraisal Information

Postal correspondence from original deposit are for weeding. Later deposits have already been selected for preservation.

Custodial History

An initial deposit on indefinite loan was made by the Council of Post Office Unions in 1975. Approximately 100 shelf feet of records of the Council and its predecessors, the Postal Department Whitley Council and the Engineering Department Whitley Council, were collected by Janet Druker on the 18th March 1975 from the Council of Post Office Unions' head offices in London. Accruals are listed below.


  • 3rd May 1978 : PO E and S DWC SS circulars and POEF EC circulars, delivered by S.J. Dearman [indefinite loan];
  • 30th September 1980 : 15 boxes of selected files collected by Richard Storey [indefinite loan];
  • 22nd December 1981 : Final selection of records (by Alistair Tough) collected by unaccompanied van from Maiden Lane office [indefinite loan].