In 1640 the manors of Laxton and Kneesall in Nottinghamshire were sold by William Courten to Robert Pierrepont, Earl of Kingston. The Pierrepont family had been settled in Nottinghamshire for several centuries prior to this transaction. The 5th Earl Kingston, Evelyn Pierrepont, was created Duke of Kingston in 1715 and his son Evelyn, the 2nd Duke, succeeded him as a minor on his death in 1726. The dukedom became extinct on the death of the 2nd Duke in 1773 but in 1806 his cousin and heir, Charles Medows, Viscount Newark (died 1860), was created Earl Manvers and took the name Pierrepont.
The Earls Manvers managed the Manor of Laxton until 1952 when Gervas Evelyn Pierrepont, 6th Earl Manvers, sold the Laxton estate to the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries. The estate has been in the hands of the Crown Estate Commissioners since 1981. Laxton is the last English village to operate the open field system. The Court of the Manor, operating instead of a Lord of the Manor, continues to administer the work in the fields and to appoint officers to oversee maintenance of the system.