Seion, Capel yr Annibynwyr, Glais records

Scope and Content

Marriage registers, 1899-1993

Graveyard records, n.d., c. early 20th century

Minutes of church meetings and deacons' meetings, 1898-1940

Adroddiadau blynyddol (annual reports), 1967-2017

Cyfraniadau'r aelodau (Members' contributions registers), 1892-1998

Receipts and payments leger, 1951-1975

Items relating to the history of the chapel, early 20th cent.-1915

Photographs, 1910-1984

Records relating to the Rev. Thomas Evan Nicholas (Niclas y Glais, 1879-1971), c. 1910-2011

Administrative / Biographical History

The cause began with members of Hebron, Clydach meeting in a house called Pentwyn, near Glais. Seion Chapel was built in 1840 and rebuilt in 1865, situated on Ynysymond Road, Glais. One of its ministers was the Rev. Thomas Evan Nicholas (1879-1971), the poet and preacher, who was also known as Niclas y Glais. Due to falling membership, the decision was taken to close the chapel and in 2018 it was closed and sold. The chapel had a graveyard with 270 grave plots, which is also closed.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Accruals

Accruals are possible.