- Photographs, 1890s–1980s;
- Promotional material, 1876.
Records of Palace Brewery, brewers and maltsters, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 PB
- Dates of Creation1876-1980s
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.005 metres (1 file)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A brewery was built on Abbey Mount, Edinburgh, Scotland , in 1865 by J & G Pendreigh , grain merchants of Leith, Scotland , and named Palace Brewery . In 1870 the brewery was acquired by David Nicolson & Son , wine merchant of Canongate, Edinburgh . The Palace Brewery of David Nicolson also had offices and stores in London, England , and was the producer of the "Palace Pale Ale". The Palace Brewery was one of four companies which combined in 1889 to form Edinburgh United Breweries Ltd . Brewing ceased in the Palace Brewery in 1916 , largely due to wartime restrictions on raw material, and never resumed. The brewery building was used as a hop store until, in 1925 , it was sold to the pioneering Edinburgh cinema magnate F R Graham Yooll and converted into a cinema. Named "Regent Cinema" it opened on 1 August 1927 . The cinema was closed in May 1970 .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
Unknown. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
McMaster, Charles, letter to the editor of The Evening News , (Edinburgh, 27 May 1985) (see EUB 15/1/5).
No known publications using this material.
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 7 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 21 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 10 April 2002.