Prior to 1834, poor relief was administered by individual parishes. Churchwardens and Overseers were responsible for collecting poor rates and allocating relief. The 1834 Poor Law Act (later known as the 'New Poor Law') led to the creation of Poor Law Unions across England and Wales.
Wrexham Poor Law Union was founded on 30th March 1837 and the Union workhouse was built in 1838 on Croesnewydd Road. The Union was administered by the Board of Guardians comprising of representatives from each constituent parish.
Constitution: Abenbury Fawr, Acton, Allington, Bersham, Bieston, Borras Hovah, Borras Riffri, Broughton, Brymbo, Burton, Cacca Dutton, Dutton y Bran, Dutton Diffeth, Erlas, Erddig, Esclusham Above, Esclusham Below, Erbistock, Eyton, Gourton, Gwersyllt, Gresford, Holt, Llay, Marchwiel, Minera, Pickhill, Ridley, Royton, Ruabon, Sesswick, Stansty, Sutton, Wrexham Abbot, Wrexham Regis, co. Denbigh; Abenbury Fechan (transferred to co. Denbigh in 1884), Bangor, Hope, Marford and Hoseley, Treuddun and Worthenbury, co. Flint; Agden, Bradley, Charlton, Cuddington, Malpas, Oldcastle, Overton, Shocklach Church, Shocklach Oviatt, Stockton, Whichlaugh and Wigland, co. Chester.
In 1929 The Local Government Act was passed which abolished Poor Law Unions in both England and Wales. Responsibility for public assistance was then passed to county councils and county boroughs. Following this act, Wrexham Workhouse became Plas Maelor Public Assistance Institution in 1930. After the Second World War, this site became part of the Wrexham Maelor Hospital. For records relating to public assistance see CD/PA.
This collection includes: minute books, correspondence, financial records, staff records, workhouse records and records of the Wrexham Rural Sanitary Authority.