Deeds relating to land at Kegworth, Leicestershire, 1733-1905

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection comprises:

  • Bargain and sale of land in the Moors, Kegworth from John Hubbard to John Johnston, 1733 (MS 6741);
  • Bargain and sale of land in the Moors, Horse Croft Field, and the Flying Horse public house,Kegworth from William Limes to Hickman Young, 1776 (MS 674 2);
  • Bargain and sale of a cottage in East Bridgeford, Nottinghamshire from Thomas Holland to ThomasBolton, 1796 (MS 674 3);
  • Bargain and sale of land in the Moors, Horse Croft Field, and The Flying Horse public house,Kegworth from William Limes to John Barrow, 1799 (MS 674 4);
  • Mortgage of land in Kegworth from Samuel Barrow to Edward Gamble and John Harley Amatt, 1855. Thedeed was covenanted for production in 1859 when William Lowe bought The Flying Horse. A reconveyancefrom Gamble and Ammatt to Barrow was added in 1862 and covenanted for Woodcock and Cripwell in 1876(MS 674 5);
  • Copies from baptism and burial registers, legacy receipts and Inland Revenue form relating toElizabeth and Samuel Barrow and their ownership of the Moors, the Homestead, Clarke's Close and TheFlying Horse public house, Kegworth, 1859 (MS 674 6-8);
  • Mortgage of land in Kegworth from Samuel Barrow to Mary Barrow, 1864. A reconveyance from Mary toSamuel was added to the deed in 1873 and it was covenanted for production for Woodcock and Cripwellin 1876 (MS 674 9);
  • Covenant for the production of deeds relating to Moor Edge Furlong, Kegworth between AmbroseLisle March Phillipps de Lisle and Sidney Wells, 1866 (MS 674 10);
  • Conveyances of a close of land called Barrington's Piece, Kegworth from trustees of John Starkeyto Thomas Cripwell, 1867 (MS 674 11);
  • Conveyances and abstracts of title of a close of land in the Moors, Kegworth from Samuel Barrowto Sidney Wells and William Woodcock, 1876 (MS 674 12-15);
  • Mortgage and conveyance of land at Kegworth between Thomas Keetley and Nahum Gretton, 1879 (MS674 16-17);
  • Reconveyance of a close of land at Kegworth from Sidney Wells to Nahum Gretton, 1883 (MS 67418);
  • Conveyance and abstract of title of the Moors, Kegworth from Nahum Gretton to Sidney Wells, 1896(MS 674 19-20);
  • Conveyance of a close of land at Kegworth from William Woodcock to Hugh Wilson, 1896 (MS 67421);
  • Abstract of title of John Henson to land in Kegworth, 1901 (MS 674 22);
  • Conveyance of land at Kegworth from John Henson to Ernest Wells, 1902 (MS 674 22);
  • Conveyance of land at Kegworth from Ernest Wells to Sidney Wells, 1905. The deed was covenantedfor production for Samuel and Thomas Wilson the same year (MS 674 23).

Administrative / Biographical History

The Moors is an area of land situated about a mile south of the Leicestershire town of Kegworthalong the west side of the modern A6 trunk road. The location of the Horse Croft Field, theHomestead and Clarke's Close, places in Kegworth mentioned in the deeds in this collection, has notbeen ascertained. The Flying Horse on Derby Road, Kegworth was a public house in the 19th centuryand is recorded as a hotel in 1904. Under the name, 'Ye Olde Flying Horse', the building is still inoperation as a public house.

In addition to the evidence in the records themselves, Leicestershire trade directories providesome information about those mentioned in these deeds. An 1846 directory shows that Sarah Barrow wasthe keeper of the Flying Horse. The entry for Kegworth in an 1877 directory mentions several of thesubjects: Thomas Cripwell, a grocer in High Street; Nahum Gretton, a hosiery manufacturer in LondonRoad; John Henson, a cooper on London Road; Thomas Keetley, a butcher and farmer in Market Place;Sidney Wells, a brewer and maltster at the Kegworth Brewery in Market Place; and William Woodcock, agrocer, corn dealer and a wines and spirits merchant in Market Place. A 1904 directory records HughWilson living in High Street working as a district manager for a Derbyshire-based brewery, andSamuel Wilson was a farmer in High Street.

Copies of baptism and burial records in this collection (MS 674/6-8) record details of members ofthe Barrow family: Elizabeth Barrow (1759-1829), Samuel Barrow, a victualler (fl 1831), Sarah Barrow(1790-1859), Samuel Barrow (born 1831), and Sarah Elizabeth Barrow (1833-1850).

Ambrose Lisle March Phillipps de Lisle (1808-1874) appears less frequently than other individualsamongst the deeds in this collection but he was the most distinguished. He was the son of CharlesMarch Phillipps of Garendon Park, Leicestershire, Ambrose was given the Manor of Grace Dieu,Leicestershire on the event of his marriage in 1833. He adopted the name de Lisle in 1862 when heinherited the estates of the de Lisle family following the death of his father. He rose toprominence as a dedicated supporter of the Catholic Church following his conversion in about 1823.With the Rev. George Spencer, he was responsible for the establishment and promotion of theAssociation of Universal Prayer for the Conversion of England. He gave land and money to theCatholic cause, and was a writer and translator of Catholic works.

Arrangement

Items in the collection have been arranged chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers by advancenotice and agreement.

LANGUAGE: English

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). TheDepartment will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Custodial History

The collection was given to The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections in June 1997.