Parish records of Amotherby

Scope and Content

Includes register of marriages, 1837-1993; register of services, 1900-1986; records concerning benefice income, including benefice income papers, 1979, sequestration accounts, 1978, and tables of fees, n.d.; charity records, including papers, 1885-1973; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1871, 1889-1985, Brisby Fabric Fund papers, 1948-1973, plans, 1870-1914, and churchyard papers, 1873, 1899, 1919-1974; records of incumbents, including benefice papers, 1934, 1977-1981, parsonage house papers, 1927-1979, and incumbent's papers and correspondence, 1971-1980; overseers records, including rating valuation, 1877, records concerning parish rooms and societies, including reading room minutes of meetings, 1932-1939, and accounts 1932-1939, 1953-1976, Malton Cottage Hospital, Amotherby Auxiliary Association minutes of meetings, 1927-1945, papers concerning sale of church room and school house, 1979-1982, and insurance papers, 1935; school records, including correspondence 1906 and 1933, school papers, 1901-1908, papers regarding sale of church room and school house, 1979-1982, and insurance papers, 1956; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1872-1895, 1912-1941, 1949-1971, 1979, accounts, 1874-1893, 1953-1973, Parochial Church Council committees minutes of meetings and papers, 1977-1979, financial papers, 1978-1981, insurance papers, 1912-1979, electoral papers, 1978, miscellaneous papers, 1949, 1971-1981, and parish magazine and questionnaire, 1948, 1977-1978; visitors' book, 1964-2001.

Administrative / Biographical History

St Helen’s Church, Amotherby, was founded as a chapel of ease to Appleton le Street. It was first mentioned in a charter of 1218 when it was granted, along with All Saints Church, Appleton le Street, to St Albans Abbey.

The church was rebuilt in 1871. Today the chapelry is part of the parish of Appleton le Street with Amotherby. Prior to 1837, Amotherby baptisms, marriages and burials were recorded in the Appleton le Street parish registers.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1980 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1985, 1990, 1994 and 2012.

Note

St Helen’s Church, Amotherby, was founded as a chapel of ease to Appleton le Street. It was first mentioned in a charter of 1218 when it was granted, along with All Saints Church, Appleton le Street, to St Albans Abbey.

The church was rebuilt in 1871. Today the chapelry is part of the parish of Appleton le Street with Amotherby. Prior to 1837, Amotherby baptisms, marriages and burials were recorded in the Appleton le Street parish registers.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1994. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Borthwick Institute for further information.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of marriages, 1837-1979, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 628, 1587-1588).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.12.15.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193