Official diary of Travelling Commissioners in Southern Nigeria

Scope and Content

Official diary of three successive Travelling Commissioners in Southern Nigeria, 1900-1903: by W.G. Ambrose (May-November 1900), J.H. Ewart (November 1900-November 1901), and W.R. Reeve-Tucker (December 1901-January 1903).

Administrative / Biographical History

W.G. Ambrose, J.H. Ewart, and W.R. Reeve-Tucker, three successive Travelling Commissioners in Southern Nigeria.

Conditions Governing Access

Bodleian reader's ticket required.


Collection level description created by Marion Lowman, Bodleian Library of Commonwealth and African Studies at Rhodes House.

Other Finding Aids

The library holds a card index of all manuscript collections in its reading room.

Listed as no. 1278 in Manuscript Collections in Rhodes House Library Oxford, Accessions 1978-1994 (Oxford, Bodleian Library, 1996).

Conditions Governing Use

No reproduction or publication of personal papers without permission. Contact the library in the first instance.