National Eisteddfod of Wales Records

Scope and Content

Records of the National Eisteddfoddau of Wales, Haverfordwest and Fishguard, 1965-1986, including programmes, 1971-1986; records relating to stewards, 1972; tickets, 1971-1972; posters, 1971-1972; committee records, 1966-1972; newspaper cuttings, 1971-1972; and booklets and reports of other Eisteddfodau, 1965-1970.

Administrative / Biographical History

Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Cymru, the National Eistaeddfod of Wales, is a society organising a peripatetic annual arts festival, hosted by local councils in North and South Wales alternately. In 1972 the National Eisteddfod was held in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, and in 1986 the Eisteddfod was held in Fishguard.


Arranged into 12 groups: Group One consists of programmes, records of stewards, tickets, posters, fund raising, committees, Hospitality Committee, Literature Committee, Drama Committee, Music Committee, Arts and Crafts Committee, Publicity Committee and newspaper cuttings; Group Two consists of Haverfordwest Eisteddfod tickets and writing paper; Group Three consists of hand book and address; Group Four consists of papers relating to the Haverfordwest Eisteddfod; Group Five consists of papers relating to the Fishguard Eisteddfod; Group Six consists of papers of the Haverfordwest Eisteddfod and booklets of other Eisteddfodau; Group Seven consists of Haverfordwest Eisteddfod plans; Group Eight consists of Haverfordwest Eisteddfod posters and handbills; Group Nine consists of papers of I. Bowen Rees, Secretary of the Steering Committee for Pembrokeshire's application to host the National Eisteddfod; Group Ten consists of copies of one act plays from the Haverfordwest Eisteddfod; Group Eleven consists of Haverfordwest Eisteddfod Financial Committee records; and Group Twelve consists of Haverfordwest Eisteddfod Ticket Committee file.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited on behalf of the Publicity Committee of the Royal National Eisteddfod of Wales, at Haverfordwest, 1972; Mr Derek Rees, Haverfordwest, Dyfed, 1981, 1985; Dr S. Davies, Aberystwyth, Dyfed, 1990; Mr Colin Evans, Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan, 2003; Mr H.J. Dickman, [1970s]; Miss M. Patch, 1979; transferred from Area Education Office, Haverfordwest, Dyfed, by Mr B. Vaughan, 1982.


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, National Eisteddfod of Wales, catalogue; Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Cymru website(, viewed 29 June 2005.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available in Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are not expected