Cambridge Architectural Society: Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

[1] General papers and correspondence: minute books; lists of members; account books; bills; reports, notices of meetings, printed forms and pamphlets; and secretary's correspondence. The correspondents include John W. Hewett (Secretary), Matthew H. Bloxam, Benjamin Webb (Ecclesiological Society), John H. Parker, Philip Lightfoot (Exeter Diocesan Architectural Society), William H. Walsh, Edward Meadows, John H. Hopkins, George A. Poole and Thomas James (Architectural Society of Archdeaconry of Northampton), Frederick P. Lowe and Edward Trollope (Lincoln Diocesan Architectural Society), Henry T. Braithwaite, Sabine Baring-Gould, Charles J. Evans (Secretary), Edward L. Cutts (Essex Archaeological Society), George E. Corrie, William Mort Thompson, John Willis Clark (Secretary), and William M. Fawcett (Secretary).

[2] Papers and letters on architectural matters, including prospectuses, reports and pamphlets. The correspondents include Daniel Winham, Hugh M. Short, Marmaduke Cockin, William G. Tweedy, Thomas H. Tait, William White (architectural sketches of Mollington church), and William Greenslade.

[3] Ely Cathedral Undergraduate Window project, 1847-57: accounts, subscription lists and bills, and correspondence. The correspondents include William Wailes and Edward B. Sparke.

[4] Restoration of St Andrew's, Barnwell Abbey: accounts, architects and craftsmens' estimates, bills, prospectuses and correspondence. The correspondents include: Sparks B. Sealy, Jonathan H. Titcomb, Sir John Ramsden, Richard R. Rowe, John Gibson, William Selwyn, and George Peacock.

Administrative / Biographical History

Cambridge Architectural Society was formed in 1846 following the collapse of the Cambridge Camden Society in 1845 (the C.C.S. reformed in London as the Ecclesiological Society). The society promoted the insertion of a stained-glass window designed by William Wailes in Ely Cathedral, and the restoration of St. Andrew the Less (Barnwell Abbey), Cambridge. In 1871 it merged with Cambridge Antiquarian Society.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Cambridge Antiquarian Society, 1993.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Summary Catalogue. A catalogue is also available in the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Related Material

Cambridge University Library holds other papers of the Cambridge Architectural Society, MSS.Add.2758-2762 and 5958(7). An album of sketches and engravings, collected by the C.A.S., is also available in the Map Room, Views, CAS.4.