Mona Mine Co. and other papers of Evans, including accounts and bargain sheets, 1786 - 1898; legal papers for Roe & Co. v Earl of Uxbridge, 1785 - 1827; letters about mines and shipping, 1886 - 1897; personal letters concerning the Bull Bay Lifeboat Station, 1888 - 1889, and the Conservative Party, 1887 - 1892; memos, 1887 - 1898; telegrams and notes, 1887 - 1889; miscellaneous business papers, 1885 - 1898; postcards, mostly business; 1881 - 1890; receipts relating to mines and shipping, 1887 - 1899; personal and tithe rental, 1887 - 1900; correspondence about brewery and gasworks, 1887 - 1899, with receipts, 1886 - 1890; and other miscellaneous papers, 1868 - 1967.
Mona Lodge Mining Papers (M. A. Jones Deposit - Mona Lodge 2)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Thomas Fanning Evans (1839-1891), metal mine owner, was inspector of metal mines, and later leased Mona Mine, Amlwch, Anglesey. He lived at Mona Lodge, Amlwch, and took an interest in Conservative politics and lifeboat provision, as well as industry (Amlwch Gas Company and Amlwch Brewery Company)and shipping. The proprietors of the Mona Mine Co. between 1786 and 1798 were the Earl of Uxbridge, Sir Henry Paget and Thomas Williams, Esq. (1737-1802). John Price was the mine agent who lived in Mona Lodge in 1790 and was replaced by James Treweek (1779-1851) in 1811, reporting to John Sanderson, Lord Uxbridge's estate manager. In 1847 Treweek was followed as Manager of the mine by his son John Henry Treweek (1817-1876). In 1866 the Mona mine was leased to Thomas Fanning Evans and John Wynne Paynter.
Arranged into the following: accounts and bargain sheets; court cases and depositions; letters; memos; telegrams and notes; miscellaneous business papers; postcards; receipts; brewery and gasworks; and miscellaneous.
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Adnau preifat / Private deposit.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following source was consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Mona Lodge Papers (1 and 2); History of Parys and Mona copper mines (www.rhosybolbach.freeserve.co.uk/history.htm), viewed 23 August 2003.
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
Some material post-dating Thomas Fanning Evans has been added, persumably also derived from Mona Lodge.
Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected