The origins of Castle Gate Congregational Church, and High Pavement Chapel (see Hi), lie within the Independent congregations that gathered in the Nottingham area from around 1655, during the Protectorate. Their ministers were ejected under the Stuart Restoration in 1662-1663. The foundation stone of the original Meeting House in Castle Gate was laid on 29 May 1689, soon after the Act of Toleration allowed for worship by Independents. By the 19th century the church had become Congregational. In 1972 (under the United Reformed Church Act 1972) most Congregational churches in England and Wales, including Castle Gate, united with English Presbyterian churches to form the United Reformed Church. In 1975, Castle Gate URC united with St Andrew's URC (formerly Presbyterian, see AU), to become St Andrew's-with-Castle Gate URC (see CAA). The united congregation decided to use the existing St Andrew's premises on Goldsmith Street and to dispose of the buildings on Castle Gate. These were sold in 1979 to the Congregational Federation, an association of those Congregational churches in England and Wales that had retained their independence from the URC. A small, but separate, fellowship of Congregationalists was continuing to meet there in 2012.
The Castle Gate congregation established daughter churches in the city at various points in its history. The records of some of these can be found in this collection. They include:
Thorneywood Mission: established 1861 and closed 1968.
Norton Street Congregational Church (formerly Bloomsgrove Mission, founded in 1836): established 1904, and closed 1979.
Park Hill Congregational Church: congregation established 1823, and in 1824 moved to a purpose-built chapel in St James' Street, Nottingham; in 1880 they bought a property on Derby Road and built Park Hill church; closed c.1979.
Clifton Congregational Church: established 1956 and closed 2019.
The collection also includes the records of the St Ann's Well Road Congregational Church (an independent foundation established in 1870), which united with Castle Gate Congregational Church in 1971.
The collection also contains several items relating to the Paton Congregational College which met at Castle Gate during the Second World War (CU/V 4). A further item is to be found in the Friary Congregational Church collection (Fy X 2/1).