Records of Rounton Preparative Meeting of the Society of Friends

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minutes of Preparative Meeting, 1776-1797 (1 vol.) [B 8]; Minutes of Women's Preparative Meeting, 1762-1794 (1 vol.) [B 9]

Administrative / Biographical History

Private houses in West Rounton were registered for Quaker worship in 1689 and 1705, before the erection of a Meeting House in 1749, to the west of the village off the main street. The Meeting was settled at some point in the late 17th century from Borrowby Meeting, and formed part of Thirsk Monthly Meeting. It was discontinued in 1799.

Arrangement

The records are numbered and arranged according to the system used when they were in Clifford Street Meeting House

Conditions Governing Access

The conditions of deposit include a clause requiring written prior permission from a Friend Custodian for access to consult current legal documents and any material less than fifty years old

Acquisition Information

The collection of archives of the Society of Friends formerly held at the Friends Meeting House in Clifford Street, York

Note

In English

Conditions Governing Use

As with access, the photocopying of current legal documents and any material less than fifty years old requires the permission of a Friend Custodian

Related Material

Related material in Leeds University Library: Records of Thirsk Monthly Meeting

Additional Information

The records are deposited and remain the property of the Society of Friends