Circuit schedule books, 1842 - 1942; minute book of quarterly meetings, 1873 - 1965, trustee's meetings, 1876 - 1960, Sunday School council, 1912 - 1924, annual leaders meetings, 1933 - 1965, local preachers, 1947 - 1965; Holyhead Wesleyan Methodist Church account book, 1890 - 1933; church register, 1918 - 1928; Ladies Sewing Club account book, 1923 - 1938; pulpit notices, 1940 - 1980; trust accounts, 1946 - 1980; collection journal, 1946 - 1969; Amlwch Methodist Sunday School, 1954 - 1966; and correspondence, bills, 1911 - 1970.
Papers of the Wesleyan Chapels at Holyhead and Amlwch
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 221 WDAAA
- Dates of Creation1842 - 1981
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.103 cubic metres (86 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Methodist Church was established by John Wesley; the movement, known as Wesleyanism, or Wesleyan Methodism, in Wales served both English and Welsh speaking communities, with parallel organisations (individual chapels linked to form Circuits, part of Districts). The North Wales District included the Amlwch and Holyhead English Circuit, Anglesey, which included the English Wesleyan Methodist Church, Cross Street, Holyhead, and the English Wesleyan Methodist Church, Amlwch.
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Adnau preifat / Private deposit., 1984
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifdy Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Gwasanaeth Archifdy Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archivesand the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Gwasanaeth Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey County Record Office, Papers of the Wesleyan Chapels at Holyhead and Amlwch catalogue; Methodism in Wales website (www.westwales.co.uk/methodism), viewed 01/07/03; Capeli database viewed 10 March 2004.
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained
Disgwylir croniadau/Accruals are expected