Jesus College, Oxford, Estates in Anglesey

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Deeds and other documents relating to Tyn - yr - Onnen farm, Llangwyllog, 1607 - 1922; correspondence between Jesus College and Anglesey County Council relating to Tyn - yr - Onnen, 1948 - 1955; deeds and other documents relating to the impropriate rectory of Holyhead, 1635 - 1868; agents' accounts, Holyhead Tithe rentals and related correspondence, 1811 - [1889]; bills, vouchers and correspondence relating to Holyhead Rectory, 1814 - 1873; correspondence and other papers relating to Church restoration, permanent endowment of Holyhead Rectory, pew disputes, and petition of more than 3,000 inhabitants for the Rev. Robert Price as new vicar, [c. 1890], and other local matters, [1786], 1818 - 1895; deeds and other papers relating to the development and sale of town properties belonging to the College, 1851 - 1970; and a list of documents transferred to the Anglesey County Record Office and those retained by Jesus College, 1999.

Administrative / Biographical History

Jesus College, Oxford, was founded in 1571; many of its early benefactors were Welsh, and by 1600 most of the student body came from Wales. In 1609 Henry Rowlands (1551-1616), Bishop of Bangor, presented Jesus College with two farms, Tythin-yr-Onnen and Tythin David, in the parish of Llangwyllog, Anglesey, to support two College Fellowships. The farms were later amalgamated as Tyn-yr-Onnen (or Tynyronen), leased to Anglesey County Council in 1920, and sold to them in 1954 for £8,150. In 1648, Rice Gwynne, heir of the late Thomas Gwynne, fulfilled the latter's wish by presenting the College with the impropriate Rectory of Holyhead, Anglesey, incorporating the curacies of Bodedern, Llandrygarn and Bodwrog. The gift provided livings for successive College Fellows and also brought an income of £100 a year from rents. The College's urban property in Holyhead was in Cambrian Terrace, Boston Street and land at the rear of Newry Fawr Street, Cambria Street, part of Craig Hyfryd, Porthyfelin Road and South Stack Road, most of which was sold between 1924 and 1986.

Arrangement

Arranged into the following: Tyn-yr-Onnen, Eiriannell, Llangwyllog; impropriate Rectory of Holyhead; papers relating to Church restoration and permanent endowment of Holyhead Rectory; the development of town properties belonging to the College and additional deposit.

Conditions Governing Access

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Transferred from Jesus College, Oxford, 1999.

Note

Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifdy Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Gwasanaeth Archifdy Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archivesand the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Gwasanaeth Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da /Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used to compile this description: Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey County Record Office, Jesus College, Oxford, Estates in Anglesey catalogue; Jesus College history, Jesus College Oxford Homepage (www.jesus.ox.ac.uk/history/), viewed June 2003.

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Custodial History

The records were held by Jesus College, Oxford.

Accruals

Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected