Bound manuscript volumes dating from c1920 containing a transcript of the Dunraven [Dwnrhefn] Manorial Survey (vols. 1 and 2) 1631 - 'Survey of the several manors of Coity Anglia, Coity Wallia, Newcastle [Y Castellnewydd], Court Coleman, Kevan Cribbwr [Cefncribwr], Lanharry [Llanhari] and Newland'.
Dunraven Manorial Survey
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 LAC/28
- Dates of Creation1920 (1920 transcript of a 1631 document)
- Physical Description2 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
c1920 transcript of 1631 Dunraven Manorial Survey: 'Survey of the several manors of Coity Anglia, Coity Wallia, Newcastle, Court Coleman, Kevan Cribbwr, Lanharry and Newland' 1631. At the time of the survey in 1631 the Lord of these Manors was the Right Hon. Robert Earl of Leicester. Dunraven Castle lies in the parish of St. Bride's Major, Glamorgan. The Lordship of Coity is divided into the lesser Lordships of Coity Anglia and Coity Wallia. Coity Anglia forms part of Bridgend. It seems that in 1717-1718 the castles of Coity, Newcastle and Nolton and the Manors of Coity Anglia and Coity Wallia were conveyed by the Earl of Leicester to Samuel Edwin of Llanvihangel, the son of ?Sir Humphrey of Dunraven. Thus they passed into the Dunraven estate.
Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Please note that some collections contain sensitive information and access may be restricted.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply