The leather-bound sketch-book measures 21.5 cms x 13 cms. On its cover the sketch-book bears a version of the arms of the Board of Ordnance - three field pieces, three canon balls, mural crown, and flags. It contains various scenes around Aberdour and Kinghorn in Fife, Comrie Castle, Aberdeen Cathedral (St. Machar), Elgin Cathedral, Jedburgh, Dryburgh and Kelso Abbeys, Loch Leven Castle and Holyrood Chapel, though it also contains sketches of grander classical buildings, features and avenues possibly in Europe, and sketches of trees. On one set of pages, the letters CS have been sketched in different ways.
Schizzenbuch aus Schottland, a sketchbook of architectural studies
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 237 Coll-1472
- Dates of Creation1800-1880
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Board of Ordnance was a British government body responsible for the supply of armaments and munitions to the Royal Navy (until 1830) and British Army. It was also responsible for providing artillery trains for armies and maintaining coastal fortresses and, later, management of the artillery and engineer corps. It also produced maps for military purposes, a function later taken over by the Ordnance Survey. The board existed under various names from 1414 until 1855, with headquarters in the Tower of London.
Open to bona fide researchers, but please contact repository for details in advance of visit.
Material acquired by purchase. Accession no: E2013.42.
Catalogued by Graeme D. Eddie 25 March 2014