St. George's Chapel was consecrated in 1850 in George Street as a chapel of ease for the poorer part of the parish. By the early 20th century, congregations in the parish had dwindled, and the need for such a chapel had lessened to the extent that in 1905 a proposal was made to the new parish of Oxford St. Andrew that they pull down the chapel and move it to Linton Road (see PAR196). This came to nothing, and eventually the chapel was closed by c.1918. The last entries in its Register of Services (R1/1 below) date from 1916. The building was finally demolished in 1935, and its site is now covered by the MGM cinema.
Note that some papers on the building of the chapel of St. George, dating from 1847-1878, have been deposited with the Bodleian Library, and have been catalogued as MS Top. Oxon. d.371.
The papers in this section include letters and bills on church fabric, offertory books, and a register of services. Among the other documents in PAR208, most references to St. George's may be found in PAR208/4/F3 and PAR208/9/L2 (the latter being a collection of licences for curates, some of whom were licenced to preach in St. Georges').