Photocopies of records relating to Chwarel Goch Congregational Chapel. Consists of account and minute books, 1941-1974; an essay on the history of Chwarel Goch chapel, c. 1956; notes, accounts and letters relating to the centenary of the chapel, and a report taken from Y Tyst.
Chwarel Goch Chapel Records (Photocopies)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Chwarel Goch congregational chapel in Tregarth, Caernarfonshire was opened in 1878. During the 1880s it had between 80 and 90 members.
Amongst the ministers that served at the chapel were, Rev. W.H. Parry (1883-1890), Rev. J. Williams-Davies (1895-1900) and Rev. J. Williams Edwards (1905-1910).
In 1935, the chapel united with Amana chapel, in Mynydd Llandygai and in the same year a Mr William Harris was chosen to serve as their minister.
Chwarel Goch chapel suffered over the years, in particular during the Great Penrhyn Strike, when many members left the area in search for work elsewhere.
In 1978 the church had 32 members, 14 of which were children.
Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, June 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 33862 - 33866
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.