Twrcelyn Rural District Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of Twrcelyn RDC, 1889 - 1974, including Council minute books, 1899 - 1974; minute books of the Finance and other committees, 1919 - 1968; general ledgers, 1889 - 1967; rate account books of various individual parishes, 1930 - 1966, and numerous parishes combined, 1948 - 1972; water rate books, 1943 - 1955; records of wages and salaries, 1944 - 1961; report books of building surveyor and sanitary inspector, 1934 - 1958; various registers, 1939 - 1967; papers relating to Traeth Coch Coast Protection Scheme, 1972 - 1973; byelaws, 1905, 1939; and Medical Officer's annual reports, 1908 - 1909; valuation lists, 1934 and 1955; report book of building surveyor and sanitary inspector, 1934 - 1958; and housing records, 1905 - 1967.

Administrative / Biographical History

Twrcelyn Rural District Council (RDC), Anglesey, was established by theLocal Government Act 1894. RDCs were bodies comprising councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities could include sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. RDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a clerk, treasurer, medical officer of health, surveyor and sanitary inspector. Twrcelyn RDC included most of the northeast of the county of Anglesey (covering Bodewrywd, Carreglefn, Llanbabo, Llanfflewin, Rhodogeidio, Coedana, Llanallgo, Llanbadrig, Llanbedrgoch, Llandyfrydog, Llanddyfnan, Llaneilian, Llanerchymedd, Llaneugrad, Llanfihangel Tre'r-beirdd, Llanfair Mathafarn Eithaf, Llanfechell, Rhosybol, Llangwyllog, Tregaian, Llechcynfarwy, Penrhoslligwy, and Llanwenllwyfo), with the exception of Amlwch, which became a separate Urban District Council in 1901. Twrcelyn RDC was abolished in 1974.


Arranged into the following: Clerk's department; and Treasurer's department.

Access Information

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Adnau preifat / Private deposit.


Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Caernarfon Record Office and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

A few of the rate books are fragile.

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used to compile this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Records of Twrcelyn Rural District Council; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Richards, Melville (ed.), Atlas Môn (Anglesey Community Council, 1972); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997).

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Custodial History

Many of the records were transferred following the abolition of the Council in 1974.


Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Related material is Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey County Record Office, WM 2028.