Morgan, Professor Augustus De: Letters

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection contains letters and notebooks relating to various mathematical subjects and general correspondence 1864-1867.

1-4. Letters to Augustus de Morgan, mostly about mathematical books and the history of the signs + and -.

1. John Bellingham Inglis, September 15 1864

2-4. John Thomas Graves, September 20 and 27, October 8 1864

5-7. Items concerning John Dawson of Sedbergh

5. Thomas Harrison, April 18 1867

6. Edward Cust, September 9 1867

7. Short biography of John Dawson, manuscript copy of article in the 'Kendal Times', November 24 1866

8. MS notes by Augustus de Morgan, mostly concerned with mathematical books and the first use of the signs + and -.

Together with 14 request slips for books in the British Museum, one dated 1854 and the rest 1864.

Administrative / Biographical History

Augustus de Morgan was born at Madura, India in 1806. On returning to England, de Morgan was educated at various schools. In February 1823 he entered Trinity College, Cambridge, where he graduated in 1827. In 1828 he was appointed Professor of Mathematics at University College London. De Morgan resigned his post in 1831, on account of a disagreement with the University Council who claimed the right of dismissing a professor without assigning reasons. He resumed his chair in 1836 on assurance that the regulations had been altered so as to preserve the independence of professors, remaining Professor of Mathematics at UCL until he resigned in November 1866.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for research. 24 hours notice is required for research visits.

Other Finding Aids

Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.

Archivist's Note

1999-09-02 Simon McKeon, 2000-06-07 Sarah Smith.

Conditions Governing Use

Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.

Custodial History

After his death in March 1871, de Morgan's library, which consisted of about three thousand volumes, was bought by Lord Overstone and presented to the University of London. MS 239 was the gift of William Frederick de Morgan in 1908.