Plans, 1931-1984, of colliery pit-head baths and other surface buildings at Abercrave, 1951-1953, Abernant, 1955-1957, Aberpergwm, 1937-1972, Blaengwrach, 1960-1963, Bryn, [1930s]-1956, Brynlliw, 1957, Cwmdu House Central Laboratory, Swansea, 1950-1965, Cwmgorse, 1951-1953, Cwmgwrach, 1936-1961, Dare, 1931-1955, Felin Fran, 1958, Garth Tonmawr, 1956-1957, Glyncastle, 1950-1959, Glyncorrwg, 1949-1954, Gwaun Cae Gurwen collieries, 1939-1955, Onllwyn No. 1 Colliery, 1954-1955, Onllwyn No.3 Colliery, 1951-1954, Onllwyn (unspecified), 1953-1954, Pentreclwydau sewage treatment plant, 1957-1958, Pontardulais Central Wages Offices, 1963, Tirbach pit-head baths, 1939-1957, Treforgan, 1963-1964, offices at 45 Wind Street, Swansea, 1953, miscellaneous, 1948-1984.
National Coal Board Plans of Colliery Pit-head Buildings
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The National Coal Board (NCB) was set up under the Coal Nationalisation Act 1946. From 1 January 1947 it had sole responsibility for managing the British coal industry. The collieries of the former county of West Glamorgan lay within the NCB's South Wales Area. The NCB became British Coal in 1986 and was dissolved in 1994.
Arranged alphabetically by colliery.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Plans of colliery pit-head baths and other surface buildings; West Glamorgan Archive Service, Files from the National Coal Board South Wales Area relating to collieries in West Glamorgan, 1939-1990, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected