Photocopies of three trust deeds of Ebenezer Chapel, York Place, Bangor and Pendref Chapel, High Street dating from 1844 June 25 to 1881 August 25. Named amongst the parties are Rev. Thomas Jones and Rev. Robert Thomas.
Ebenezer and Pendref Chapels Trust Deeds
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS EPTD
- Dates of Creation[ca. 1960's]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description3 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A preacher from Pembrokeshire, Daniel Evans, is believed to bethe founder of Ebenezer Chapel. He obtained land in Bangor, north Wales ca.1800 and built a house of worship on the site. The chapel soonfound itself in debt but was saved by Mr Arthur Jones whotravelled the country collecting money for the cause and in 1810 hewas ordained minister at Ebenezer. By 1826 the chapel had beenrebuilt and a new schoolroom had also appeared. The membershipgrew and the congregation gained influence in Bangor. Yet again, anew chapel was built not far from the old site and opened in 1859in York Place.
In November 1879, a dispute at Ebenezer Congregational Chapelled to the establishment of Pendref Chapel. Over a hundredmembers left Ebenezer and decided that a new chapel should bebuilt and in June 1882 the opening ceremony was held at Pendref,situated on the High Street in Bangor.
Today, Pendref chapel is a flourishing cause, whilst Ebenezerchapel has been converted into flats.
Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, May 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 17952-17954
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.
Location of original trust deeds is unknown.