The records consist of minute books dating from 1912 to 1963 which also contain minutes of church meetings between 1905 - 1906. Also, various account books and financial records of contributions towards the ministry and towards the central fund.
Caersalem Chapel Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS CC
- Dates of Creation1902 - 1964
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh.
- Physical Description6 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1930, Caersalem Calvinist Methodist Chapel in Llanfairfechan celebrated its Golden Jubilee. Built in 1880 and designed by Mr Richard Davies of Bangor, Architect, the chapel could hold a congregation of around 300 people. In October 1880, the opening service was conducted by Rev. David Davies of Barmouth, Rees Jones of Y Felinheli and P. W. Jones of Pen-y-groes. In 1951 following a decline in members it was decided that Caersalem Chapel should unite with Horeb Chapel.
Arranged according to record type and chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, May 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 21122 - 21127
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.