Parish records of Kilnwick Percy

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1688-1993; register of marriages, 1688-1751, 1755-1812, 1814-1945; register of burials, 1690-1978 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1790-1812, ages only); register of banns, 1840-1946; register of services, 1930-2006; records of incumbents, including benefice papers, 1947; church log book, 1983-1993; insurance papers, 1959; papers concerning redundancy of church, 2005-2006.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of Kilnwick Percy, sometimes known as Kildwick Percy, was given to the Dean of York in the reign of Henry II by Robert de Percy, from whom it derives part of its name. The parish remained subject to the Dean’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. A vicarage was ordained there in 1312.

The parish church of St Helen dates to the twelfth century, although it was rebuilt by architects J. B. and W. Atkinson in 1865. It stands in the parkland of Kilnwick Percy Hall, the village having become depopulated by the early eighteenth century.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1714, 1767 and 1785.

Today the parish is part of Pocklington and Owsthorpe with Kilnwick Percy, one of six churches within the united benefice of Pocklington Wold.

The parish is notable for having had as its vicar Laurence Sterne, who was appointed in 1756, three years before the publication of the first volume of his novel ‘Tristram Shandy’.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979. Further additions were made to the archive in 1988, 1993, 2006 and 2008.

Note

The church of Kilnwick Percy, sometimes known as Kildwick Percy, was given to the Dean of York in the reign of Henry II by Robert de Percy, from whom it derives part of its name. The parish remained subject to the Dean’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. A vicarage was ordained there in 1312.

The parish church of St Helen dates to the twelfth century, although it was rebuilt by architects J. B. and W. Atkinson in 1865. It stands in the parkland of Kilnwick Percy Hall, the village having become depopulated by the early eighteenth century.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1714, 1767 and 1785.

Today the parish is part of Pocklington and Owsthorpe with Kilnwick Percy, one of six churches within the united benefice of Pocklington Wold.

The parish is notable for having had as its vicar Laurence Sterne, who was appointed in 1756, three years before the publication of the first volume of his novel ‘Tristram Shandy’.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2008.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1688-1993, marriages, 1688-1812, burials, 1690-1978, and banns, 1840-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 715, 883, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193