Papers of Harold Taylor, architect, 1895-1919

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The principal element in the collection is a series of plans dating from 1900-1913, and mainly, although not exclusively, concerning Alfreton, Long Eaton and Pinxton, Derbyshire and Nottingham. The majority are of houses, ranging from large town residences to terraced houses, but also including shops, schools, factories and a church. Most are identified by name or owner, but a significant quantity of sketches of internal and external features lack any reference to particular properties. A few plans by other local architects (Dodd, Gill and King, Percy Ballard) are included with Taylor's papers.

With the plans survive a number of letters and legal papers (relating to property designed by Taylor), and some drawings from the publication, The Architect.

Administrative / Biographical History

The collection contains the professional papers of Harold Taylor, who worked as an architect during the early twentieth century. He was employed with the Nottingham based architects' firm Brewill and Baily, but his main business was established in the town of Pinxton, Derbyshire.

Arrangement

The papers have been divided into five sections depending on the form of the material (e.g. correspondence, legal papers).

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers

REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.

  • In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue, 9 pp
  • At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue, 9 pp

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.

LANGUAGE: English.

Custodial History

The papers came to Nottingham University Library in 1985.