Parish records of Luttons Ambo

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1875-1946; register of marriages, 1876-1958; register of burials, 1876-1944; register of services, 1912-1982; records concerning benefice income, including papers, 1874-1947, and table of fees, 1947; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1935-1949, 1964-1980; records of incumbents, including personal papers regarding local history, n.d., benefice papers, 1963, offertory account, 1881, curates' papers, 1961-1962, and 'The Thirty Nine Articles', 18th century copy; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including insurance papers, 1930-1941; copies of London Gazette relating to Luttons Ambo, 1873, 1929.

Administrative / Biographical History

Luttons Ambo comprises the two villages of East Lutton and West Lutton. It was a chapelry within the parish of Weaverthorpe until 1856 when it was transferred to Helperthorpe parish. In 1874 it separated from Helperthorpe to form its own parish.

The parish church of St Mary’s is situated in West Lutton. It was built on the site of the medieval chapel of ease between 1872 and 1875 by architect George Edmund Street.

Today the parish is part of the combined benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe, Kirby Grindalythe and Wharram le Street.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1993, 1994 and 1999.

Note

Luttons Ambo comprises the two villages of East Lutton and West Lutton. It was a chapelry within the parish of Weaverthorpe until 1856 when it was transferred to Helperthorpe parish. In 1874 it separated from Helperthorpe to form its own parish.

The parish church of St Mary’s is situated in West Lutton. It was built on the site of the medieval chapel of ease between 1872 and 1875 by architect George Edmund Street.

Today the parish is part of the combined benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe, Kirby Grindalythe and Wharram le Street.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1875-1885, marriages, 1876-1885, and burials, 1876-1885, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 724).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 24.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193