Digest of Quaker births, marriages and burials in Scotland, 1647 - 1878

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Digest of Quaker births, marriages and burials in Scotland, 1647 - 1878, compiled by A. Strath Maxwell in 1960, from Quaker records formerly in Aberdeen. Also, a copy of list of burials in Quaker burial ground in the Gallowgate, Aberdeen, 1671 - 1816, bombed during 1939 - 1945, and excavated for municipal housing in 1962, compiled by J. Fenton Wyness.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Religious Society of Friends has been active in the north-east of Scotland, mainly in the City of Aberdeen, since the 1660s. Despite persecution, which reached its height in the 1670s, not a few north-east people were attracted to the new movement such as Robert Barclay (1648-1690), theologian, Alexander Jaffray (1614-1673) and George Keith (c 1639 -1716).

For further details on the history of the Quaker community in Aberdeen see John Torrance, The Early Quakers in the North East Scotland, in Transactions of the Banffshire Field Club, (1936), 67-87; Hewitt, A. R., The Quakers in the North-east: Unity, Liberty, Charity, Deeside Field Club, 20 (1988), 62-65; Delia Seager, Quakerism in the North East of Scotland: Enthusiasm, Apology and Persecution, in After Columba, after Calvin: Community and Identity in the Religious Traditions of North East Scotland, ed. by James Porter (Aberdeen: Elphinstone Institute, 1999), pp. 97-106.

Arrangement

None observed - listing in process.

Conditions Governing Access

Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet

Acquisition Information

Deposited in the University in 1969, by A. Strath Maxwell

Other Finding Aids

Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online http://www.abdn.ac.uk/diss/library/

Alternative Form Available

No copies known

Conditions Governing Use

Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.

Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: speclib@abdn.ac.uk) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures

Accruals

No accruals expected

Related Material

The Library of the Society of Friends is one of several special libraries deposited in the University (ref. SFK and SFA). It was created from the libraries of Aberdeen Meeting House in Crown Street, Aberdeen, which was deposited in 1990, and an earlier deposit from Kinmuck Meeting House, founded around 1681. A core element of the Collection relates to the writings of Quaker apologists and biographers, but there are also more general religious books. They date mainly from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, though some are from the nineteenth century.

Bibliography

No known publications using this material

Additional Information

Not known