Records relating to the Humber Amalgamated Steam Trawlers', Engineers' and Firemen's Union

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

This small collection contains minute books of the Union, one volume covering the period 1906-1914 and a second volume covering the period 1915-1925

Administrative / Biographical History

The Humber Amalgamated Steam Trawlers', Engineers' and Firemen's Union was established in the early 1900s and reached a peak of 1222 members in 1926. Its offices were based in Hull on West Dock Avenue, no doubt because Hull was the major centre for shipping and the fishing industry on the Humber during the Union's lifetime. In 1938, the Union merged with the Transport and General Workers' Union.

Conditions Governing Access

Access will be granted to any accredited reader

Conditions Governing Use

Humber Amalgamated Steam Trawlers', Engineers' and Firemen's Union

Custodial History

Donated by Professor John Saville, Department of Economic and Social History. This collection was originally catalogued alongside material relating to the National Council for Labour Colleges under U DX70. In June 2016 this discrepency were spotted and the material in U DX70 was split to create two collections: material currently within U DX70 now relates only to the National Council of Labour Colleges, whilst material relating to the Humber Amalgamated Steam Trawlers', Engineers' and Firemen's Union is now catalogued under U DX393.

Related Material

Records of Richard Henry Hobbs Esq, Manager of the Humber Steam Trawling Company and Director of Newington Steam Trawlersd [Ref C DFRH]

Hellyer Brothers, Trawler Owners, St. Andrews Dock [Ref C DBHB]