Parish records of Acomb, St James the Deacon

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1955-1976; register of marriages, 1966-1988; register of banns, 1966-1981; register of confirmations, 1953-1977; register of services, 1955-1989; Vestry/ Parochial Church Council, photocopy of diocesan survey, 1976.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor, began life as a mission chapel and district within the parish of Acomb in 1952 and was created to meet the needs of new housing estates in South West York. It separated from Acomb in May 1968 and today the parish includes Woodthorpe, Acomb Park and Foxwood, and parts of Dringhouses West and Acomb.
St James’ Church was built by York architect George Pace and consecrated in 1971. Whilst of contemporary design, the church incorporates many features from older York churches. These include a twelfth century arch from the demolished church of St Maurice, a fifteenth century font from St Sampson’s, and a fourteenth century altar slab from York Minster.
A church hall was added in 2010.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1993 by the incumbent. A further addition was made to the archive in 2019.

Note

The parish of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor, began life as a mission chapel and district within the parish of Acomb in 1952 and was created to meet the needs of new housing estates in South West York. It separated from Acomb in May 1968 and today the parish includes Woodthorpe, Acomb Park and Foxwood, and parts of Dringhouses West and Acomb.
St James’ Church was built by York architect George Pace and consecrated in 1971. Whilst of contemporary design, the church incorporates many features from older York churches. These include a twelfth century arch from the demolished church of St Maurice, a fifteenth century font from St Sampson’s, and a fourteenth century altar slab from York Minster.
A church hall was added in 2010.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received in 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1955-1976, and marriages, 1966-1988, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 1582).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 03.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Acomb, St Stephen and Acomb, St Aidan, Ridgeway are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193