Session minutes, 1809-1810, 1827-1843 and 1867-1962; Managers minutes, 1871-1962; Cash books, 1919-1935, 1937-1962, 1968-1978; Communion rolls, 1864-1899, 1913-1968; Proclamation register, 1953-1977; Property registers, 1953-1978; Financial papers, 1865-1940 and 1941-1961; Congregational board minutes, 1962-1978; Seat letting book, 1962-1967; Sunday School attendance register, 1940-1962.
Records of Ferryport-on-Craig Associate congregation, United Presbyterian and Erskine United Free Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/315
- Dates of Creation1809-1980
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description1 metre
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Associate Congregation (Antiburgher) of Ferryport-on-Craig was established during the early years of the 19th century and is thought to have owed its origins largely to persons who withdrew from the Established Church. A place of worship was constructed for the charge, which was later replaced by a new church erected in 1844, and in 1809 the first minister of the congregation, Adam Blair, was ordained. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, Ferryport-on-Craig U.P. Church became Ferryport-on-Craig Erskine (later termed Tayport Erskine) United Free Church, and in 1902 the charge was transferred from the Presbytery of Dundee to that of St Andrews. In 1962, following the 1929 union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church, Tayport Erskine united with the congregation of Tayport, Ferryport-on-Craig, under the name of Tayport Erskine, Ferryport-on-Craig, and a further union followed in 1978 with Tayport Queen Street, to form the congregation of Tayport. Tayport Kirk Session still remains active today.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.