Ceiriog Rural District Council, Denbighshire, was formed in 1935 by the amalgamation of Chirk and Llansilin Rural District Councils. It contained the parishes of Chirk, Glyntraian, Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, Llangadwaladr, Llangedwyn, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog and Llansilin. The council was composed of councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. Ceiriog Rural District Council was abolished following local government reorganisation in 1974, being absorbed into the new Glyndwr District Council, in the county of Clwyd (the area is now split between Wrexham County Borough and Powys County Council).
Scope and content: Records of Ceiriog Rural District Council, 1934-1980, comprising Clerk's department records, 1934-1974, including minutes, 1934-1974, letter books, 1935-1944, and byelaws, 1936-1955; Treasurer's records, 1935-1974, including ledgers, 1935-1965, financial statements, 1937-1961, account books, 1935-1954, loans account registers and ledgers, 1936-1953, 1972-1974, and staff records, -1960; Rating Officer's records, 1935-1980, including rate account books, 1935-1966, and rate produce records for Ceiriog RDC and Glyndwr District Council, 1968-1980; Medical Officer of Health's annual report, 1936; and miscellaneous plans of proposed works, -.