Note on Jubilee Tower sketch 1842, From Tony King and Christopher J Williams, 'The Jubilee Tower on Moel Fama', Denbighshire Historical Society Transactions, 58 (2010), 98:
The earliest known drawing of the tower is a sketch executed in 1842. Its artist, George Croft, went on an excursion to it from Holywell with three other men on 27 July 1842. Meredith Vickers, a Holywell industrialist, was to have been one of the party, but was unable to go, so Croft drew the sketch and presented it to him(1.) This sketch served as the source for three later engravings, the first being that published in Edward Parry's Royal Visits and Progresses to Wales in 1850(2.)
(1.) Photocopy of the sketch in a file on the tower held by the Loggerheads County Park warden. The sketch was accurate, to judge from a comparison with the later photograph, apart from one window in the middle section, although this may be the result of the sketch showing the tower from a different viewpoint. The location of the original is unknown. Nothing is known of the artist, George Croft.
(2.) Parry, Royal Visits and Progresses to Wales, 416. The same view appeared with minor alterations in Edwards, History of the Jubilee Tower, and C H Leslie, Rambles Round Mold (Mold, 1869). The latter view was later published as a postcard.