Scope and Content

Records relating to the Rhyl Improvement Commissioners, 1854-1916, including: deeds of land in Flintshire, 1859-1894; sale particulars and plans, 1855-[c. 1894]; contracts, agreements and mortgages relating to the town of Rhyl, 1854-1916; and correspondence and papers, 1869-1893; records of Rhyl Urban District Council, 1890-1948, including: rate books, 1914; deeds, 1891-1905; sale particulars and plans, 1894-1928; contracts, agreements and mortgages in connection with public works, 1895-1939; correspondence, 1895-1946; records relating to Royal National Eisteddfodau, Rhyl, 1890-1905; and miscellaneous, 1896-1948.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Rhyl Improvement Commissioners were established in 1852 by Private Act of Parliament to perform many of the tasks of local government, prior to the creation of the Rhyl Urban District Council in 1894. The duties of the Commissioners included construction and repair of main roads and sewerage works, administering tenancies of market hall stalls, and management of Towyn Isolation Hospital. Rhyl Urban District Council (UDC), Flintshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. Rhyl UDC was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation, being absorbed into Rhuddlan Borough Council.


Arranged into the following: Rhyl Improvement Commissioners; Rhyl U.D.C.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by the Clwyd County Librarian per Rhuddlan Area Library, Flintshire, 1980.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Flintshire Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further papers are Flintshire Record Office, UD/F, D/DM/1109 and IC and Denbighshire Record Office, UDD/E.

Geographical Names