Records relating to Castle Hill Brewery, Ewloe, Flintshire, 1873-1979, including accounts, 1891-1956; letter books, 1909-1943; Fox family papers, 1944-1957; leases, tenancy agreements and legal papers, 1873-1940; sale plans, catalogue and particulars, 1898-1979; and examples of beer bottles, barrel taps and other equipment used at the Castle Hill Brewery [not dated].
CASTLE HILL BREWERY (EWLOE) MSS
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Castle Hill Brewery, Ewloe, Flintshire, was owned by the Fox family during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. John Fox (d. 1888) was the brewer until c. 1888. The brewery supplied a number of public houses in Flintshire, including the Hawarden Castle Hotel, Queensferry, the Ship Hotel, Connah's Quay, the Red Lion, Buckley, the Crown and Liver, Ewloe, the Owain Glyndwr, in Gwernymynydd, the George and Dragon, Flint, the Castle Inn, Shotton, the Boar's Head, Northop, the New Inn, Sandycroft, the Plough Inn, Aston, the Blue Bell, Hawarden, the Hope and Anchor, Buckley, and the Mechanics Arms, Pentre. The brewery later became Castle Hill Farm.
Arranged into three groups: Group One, accounts, letter book and miscellaneous records; Group Two, leases, tenancy agreements and legal papers; and Group Three, sale particulars.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Mr and Mrs L. Bell, Hawarden, Clwyd, 1979, 1980.
Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Flintshire Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.