Deeds and papers, 1901-1938; general and financial accounts, 1904-1975; wages, 1914-1950; farming papers, 1857-1974; letterbooks, 1906-1929; general correspondence, 1914-1950; other correspondence and papers, 1901-1952; legal papers, 1908-1971; family papers, [c. 1886]-1991; plans, 1926-[1950s]; photographs, [c. 1885]-[c. 1989]; dog shows programmes and rosettes, 1945-1990; and general, 1914-(1940s).
MARSH FARMS LIMITED, SEALAND, RECORDS
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Ledson family had farmed Old and New Marsh Farms, Sealand, Flintshire, since the early twentieth century. Marsh Farms Ltd. was formed in 1927 from Old Marsh Farm owned by Joseph Ambrose Ledson and New Marsh Farm which J.A. Ledson held under lease from Messrs. John Summers & Sons Ltd.
J.A. Ledson prior to 1919 was in partnership with his cousin George Ledson, and with David Crow, leased the Howard's Marsh Farms (as New Marsh Farm was then known) from Dee Estates Ltd in 1904. In 1912, the Ledsons leased the (Old) Marsh Farm, when Oliver Wood, who had farmed there since 1901, surrendered the tenancy. When the Ledsons renewed their lease in 1915, the owners of the New Marsh Farm were Messrs. John Summers & Sons Ltd. On George Ledson's death (Aug 1919), Joseph took over the business on his own account at Old and New Marsh Farms, thereby incurring considerable liabilities (about £20,000) which he was unable to meet. He approached Messrs. John Summers and Sons who agreed to take a financial interest in the farm, provided the business was formed into a limited liability company under which they could obtain full control. The Ledsons purchased the farm (comprising 81 acres) from John Henry Lloyd in 1920.
Around 1926, about 207 acres of New Marsh Farm were sold to the Air Ministry for the Sealand/Shotwick Aerodrome which was being established at that time.
Marsh Farms Ltd was formed in 1927 from the merging of Old Marsh Farm, owned by J.A. Ledson, and New Marsh Farm, which he leased from Messrs John Summers & Sons Ltd. J.A. Ledson was appointed the first manager of the company in 1927, but without any financial control. He was entitled to live in Old Marsh Farm free of rent, rates etc. However, less than a year later, in July 1928, he had resigned his position, and emigrated with his wife and family to Canada to make a fresh start in farming there.
One of the five directors and secretary of Marsh Farms Ltd. in 1927 was Captain Bertram John Young (1875-1941) who had had a farm in Sealand, near Old Marsh Farm, since 1921. Precious to this he had been a professional photographer with business premises in Liverpool. After Ledson emigrated, Young obtained the tenancy of the Marsh Farms, taking up residence at Old Marsh Farm where he farmed until his death in 1941, after which his son Eric L. Young (1906-1991) took over the tenancy. Eric purchased Old Marsh Farm from Sir Geoffrey Summers in 1948 and was the father of the depositor, Mrs J. R. Bennett.
Arranged into the following: deeds and papers; accounts/financial; farming papers; correspondence; photographs; legal; family; plans; and miscellaneous.
Conditions Governing Access
Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.
Deposited on indefinite loan by Mr and Mrs J. R. Bennett [daughter of Eric J. Young], Frog Hall, Moor Lane, Kinnerton, near Chester, in 1991.
Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Flintshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Usual Copyright Restrictions Apply
All records deposited at Flintshire Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.