BAILEY HILL COLLIERY COMPANY LIMITED RECORDS

Scope and Content

Records relating to Bailey Hill Colliery Company Limited and Bedford Pits Colliery Limited, 1875-1900, including: deeds, 1875-1900; and sale particulars, 1893.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Bailey Hill Colliery Company Limited was based in the parish of Mold, Flintshire, and mined coal, cannel shale and ironstone, in the townships of Mold, Broncoed and Gwernaffield. It was owned by John Woolright, draper, and John Bromfield Williams, coal merchant, of Liverpool, and was formed after the liquidation of their Bedford Pits Colliery Limited in c. 1880. Bailey Hill Colliery Co. Ltd. was liquidated and sold in 1893 and remained with the liquidator, George Henry Hollingsworth, until c. 1900.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically in a series: 'Title Deeds and Associated Papers'.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Messrs Ellis, Sayer and Henderson, Solicitors, Wigan, per Wigan Record Office, 1977.

Note

Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

Accruals are not expected

Custodial History

The archive eventually reached Messrs Ellis, Sayer and Henderson, solicitors, in Wigan, Lancashire.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names