Records of Charles Jones & Sons Ltd, 1905-1983, including accounts, 1905-1983; correspondence, 1922-1955; registration and administration records, 1908-1964; share certificates and transfer documents, 1908-1930; and miscellaneous, 1922-1974.
CHARLES JONES AND SONS LIMITED, TIMBER MERCHANTS, RHYL, RECORDS
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Charles Jones & Sons Ltd, timber merchants, of Kinmel Bay, near Rhyl, Flintshire, was probably established in the early 20th century. About 1950, following the death of the owner, his widow, Gwen Jones, and stepson, Mick Smith Jones, took over the running of the business. The company went into decline, and by 1978 was on the verge of bankruptcy. It was bought by Sir Alfred McAlpine, and Henry L. Griffiths was appointed chairman. The business continued until 1986, when it was concluded that the site was unsuitable for expansion. The site was sold to Rhuddlan Borough Council in 1986-7, and the company was merged with a similar company within the McAlpine Group.
Arranged into five groups: Group One, accounts, miscellaneous; Group Two, correspondence; Group Three, miscellaneous; Group Four, accounts, photographs, and miscellaneous; and Group Five, share certificates, accounts, photographs and administrative papers.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Mr Austin, Charles Jones & Sons, Ltd., Kinmel Bay, Clwyd, 1981-1991.
Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Flintshire Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected