Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The formation of a sanatorium for the free treatment of the effects of Tuberculosis was first proposed in 1899. The Earl of Airlie donated a site at Auchterhouse in the Sidlaw Hills outside Dundee. The Sanatorium was opened by his wife in September 1902, receiving its first patients in March of the following year. It operated as a charitable concern until 1910, when management of the Sanatorium was transferred to the Dundee Royal Infirmary. The Sanitorium was latterly used as a convalescent home and also catered for respite care patients. Sidlaw Hospital was closed from 4 November 1980 and its patients transferred to the Royal Victoria Hospital in Dundee.
Records are arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the administrator of the Dundee Royal Infirmary in 1986 (AccM/227).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.